7.35.3 NMAC · Training & Education

New Mexico Medical Psilocybin Program

Which licenses qualify

Updated August 26, 2026. The two tables reflect the revised proposed rule published August 25. The roles are written by the published text's names, the certifying clinician and the practitioner; the recommendation's proposed renames, medical screener and Licensed Provider, were not adopted and are stated where the recommendation is described. On July 17 the department kept the certifying-clinician controlled-substance-number requirement, now inside the amended definition as well (see The controlled-substance number). The committee's recommendation stands at its August 21 position; what it would still change is stated in a block beneath the tables, and nothing in the tables changes unless the department adopts it. The end-of-life doula and the palliative care specialist are read in full in a section beneath the second table. A section below that adds specialization options.

Two reference tables. The first is the steps for each permit. The second is which licenses can qualify for each.

These tables cover provider licenses, not patient eligibility. The Act's qualifying conditions for patients are PTSD, major treatment-resistant depression, substance use disorders, and end-of-life care; how a patient is certified is on the CS number page.

Reading the tables

EligibleThe rules give this license a route.
PartialOpen only if that specific license's scope covers it.
ReciprocityOnly through the out-of-state route.
No current pathThe rules give this license no route.
Not specifiedThe rules do not address it. Different from no path: it is unanswered, not closed.
By license heldA specialty rather than a license of its own. The route is the one belonging to whichever New Mexico license the person holds, so read the row for that license.
Supervised onlyThe scope reaches the work, but the license may not be practiced independently. The rule does not address a license of this kind, so whether the supervision follows the person into psilocybin practice is unanswered.
One conditionThe scope reaches one qualifying condition and expressly excludes the others. The route is open for patients with that condition and closed for the rest.
Need source Need sourceCarried on this site as work to be completed. The finding is stated, the primary document has not been read directly, and the claim is not yet citable.
SettledThe published text of August 25 states it, and it was not changed on the record.
OpenThe published text of August 25 states it, and it is still moving: the didactic, practicum, mentoring, and supervisory hours carry the committee's August 21 recommendation beside the revised text, and public comment continues through the October 2 hearing.

Table 1

The steps, for each permit

Read down a column for one permit. Colored pills mark the steps that are still open: the didactic, practicum, mentoring, and supervisory hours, sent to the Training and Education Committee by the July 17 board vote, answered in the August 25 revised text, and still carrying the committee's August 21 recommendation beside it. The controlled-substance number, contested and kept by the department on July 17, is settled. These tables read from the published text of August 25, and every provision on this page is open to public comment through the rule hearing, October 2, fixed by notice.

Step Certifying Clinician Practitioner Facilitator
Entry credential
NM professional license permitting diagnosis of the qualifying conditions (e.g. MD, NP)Settled
NM license to practice therapy, counseling, or behavioral services (e.g. PSY, LSW, LCSW)Settled
No licenseSettled
Prerequisites
HIPAA, plus attestation. No BLS, CPR or EMT requirementSettled
BLS or CPR and AED or NM EMT license, plus HIPAA, plus attestationSettled
BLS or CPR and AED or NM EMT license, plus HIPAA, plus attestationSettled
Approved program
New Mexico module, plus clinician curriculum: 8 didacticSettled
New Mexico module, plus practitioner curriculum: 65 shared + 5 practitioner didactic, one third of it in person, plus 10 simulated patientOpen
New Mexico module, plus facilitator curriculum: 65 shared + 5 facilitator didactic, one third of it in person, plus 10 simulated patientOpen
Practicum at a Healing Center or other approved location
None requiredSettled
120 hoursOpen
100 hoursOpen
Mentoring
Not addressedNot specified
10 hoursOpen
10 hoursOpen
Testing out
All modules but NMSettled
All modules but NMSettled
All modules but NMSettled
Role gate
20 hours supervising facilitatorsOpen
NoneSettled
Permit application
Electronic packet, 2-year permitSettled
Electronic packet, 2-year permitSettled
Electronic packet, 2-year permitSettled
Continuing education
8 CME hours / 2 yearsSettled
20 hours / 2 yearsSettled
20 hours / 2 yearsSettled
Reciprocity is a separate entry into Practitioner or Facilitator for people trained outside New Mexico, if their program is on NMDOH's approved list. The published rule sets both waiver deadlines at December 31, 2027. The July 9 draft had read December 31, 2026 for reciprocity applicants and June 30, 2027 for other certification applicants; at the July 9 meeting the board moved both deadlines to December 31, 2027 without objection; chair Ian Dunn noted that date is a legislative backstop, not the target date. A certifying clinician trained outside New Mexico applies by the same route: 7.35.3.10 (B) names certifying clinician alongside practitioner and facilitator, and requires everything the in-state packet requires, including the New Mexico license and the controlled substance number. The practicum waiver at 7.35.3.10 (D)(1) names practitioners and facilitators only, which costs a certifying clinician nothing, because no practicum applies to that role.

Source: the revised proposed rule, August 25, 2026. Entry credentials, prerequisites, the controlled substance number and the two-year certification: 7.35.3.9, pp. 2-3. Mentoring and testing out: 7.35.3.17, p. 11. Curriculum hours and continuing education: 7.35.3.18, pp. 11-13. Practicum and supervision hours: 7.35.3.19, pp. 13-14. Reciprocity deadline change: July 9 meeting transcript.

Table 2

Which licenses can qualify

Eligibility follows what the license allows. The certifying clinician column also turns on the controlled-substance number, which the department kept in the rule on July 17. Not final; the rule hearing is October 2.

Starting license Certifying Clinician Practitioner Facilitator
Prescribing / medical
Physician (MD / DO)Eligibleroute →Partialroute →Eligibleroute →
PsychiatristEligibleroute →Eligibleroute →Eligibleroute →
Nurse PractitionerEligibleroute →Partialroute →Eligibleroute →
Physician AssistantPartialroute →Partialroute →Eligibleroute →
Licensed behavioral health, independent practice
Psychologist (PhD / PsyD)Partialroute →Eligibleroute →Eligibleroute →
LCSW / LISW, clinical social workerPartialroute →Eligibleroute →Eligibleroute →
LPCC, professional clinical mental health counselorPartialroute →Eligibleroute →Eligibleroute →
LMFT, marriage and family therapistPartialroute →Eligibleroute →Eligibleroute →
LPAT, professional art therapistNeed sourcePartialroute →Eligibleroute →Eligibleroute →
LADAC, alcohol and drug abuse counselorNeed sourcePartialroute →One conditionroute →Eligibleroute →
Licensed behavioral health, supervised tiers
LMHC, mental health counselorNeed sourcePartialSupervised onlyEligible
LMHC-AS, art therapy specialtyNeed sourcePartialSupervised onlyEligible
LAMFT, associate marriage and family therapistNeed sourceNo current pathSupervised onlyEligible
LMSW, master social workerNeed sourceNo current pathSupervised onlyEligible
Psychologist associateNeed sourceNo current pathSupervised onlyEligible
LBSW, baccalaureate social workerNeed sourceNo current pathNo current pathEligible
LSAA, substance abuse associateNeed sourceNo current pathNo current pathEligible
Other NM-licensed health
Psychiatric mental health nurse practitionerEligibleroute →Partialroute →Eligibleroute →
Clinical nurse specialist, psychiatricNeed sourcePartialroute →Partialroute →Eligibleroute →
Registered NurseNo current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
PharmacistNo current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
Occupational therapistNeed sourceNo current pathroutes →Not specifiedroutes →Eligibleroute →
Naturopathic DoctorNot specifiedroutes →Not specifiedroutes →Eligibleroute →
Massage Therapist / alliedNo current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
Other NM-licensed professionalPartialroutes →Partialroutes →Eligibleroute →
Non-clinical / community
Unlicensed community memberNo current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
Certified Peer Support Worker (CPSW)Need sourceNo current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
Peer supporter / lived experienceNo current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
Certified Community Health Worker (CCHW)Need sourceNo current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
Chaplain / hospice / spiritual careNo current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
Perinatal doula, NM-certifiedNeed sourceNo current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
Music, dance/movement, or other creative arts therapistNeed sourceNo current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
End-of-life doula (death doula)No current pathroutes →No current pathroutes →Eligibleroute →
Indigenous / traditional healerNo current pathroutes →Not specifiedroutes →Eligibleroute →
A specialty rather than a license
Palliative care specialistBy license heldroute →By license heldroute →Eligibleroute →
Trained outside New Mexico
Resident, out-of-state credentialReciprocityroute →Reciprocityroute →Reciprocityroute →
Internationally trained (non-US)Reciprocityroute →Reciprocityroute →Reciprocityroute →

Entry credentials: 7.35.3.9 (D), (E) and (F), revised proposed rule p.3. Reciprocity clause, which names certifying clinician alongside practitioner and facilitator: 7.35.3.10 (B), p.4. The August 25 text states each license's required practice, permitting diagnosis of the qualifying conditions for the certifying clinician and therapy, counseling, or behavioral services for the practitioner, with examples (e.g. MD, NP; e.g. PSY, LSW, LCSW); what a given license allows still sits with its governing board, the test the June 12 recommendation p.1 states and this table applies. End-of-life doula and palliative care specialist are read below.

How the verdicts are graded

The scope test behind the verdicts

Nothing in the chain lists licenses. The scope test was first written down in the June 12 recommendation, page 1, which defers the question to each license's governing board: a practitioner needs "a current and valid license from a recognized New Mexico licensing board which allows for the delivery of counseling, mental health therapy, or behavioral health therapy within their licensure scope of practice (as outlined by their governing licensure Board)," and a certifying clinician needs a license "which allows diagnosing the qualifying medical condition within their licensure scope of practice." The August 25 text now writes a scope requirement into the application items themselves: a certifying clinician documents a license "to practice in New Mexico and diagnose the qualifying conditions," and a practitioner a license "to practice therapy, counseling, or behavioral services in New Mexico," at 7.35.3.9 (D) and (E), p. 3. What any given license allows still sits with its governing board.

Reading each board's scope against that test produces two verdicts the legend did not previously carry, and the published rule addresses neither case.

Supervised only. New Mexico issues licenses whose scope reaches counseling and diagnosis but which may not be practiced independently. The associate and master tiers say so in their own rules: an LMSW "may not practice independently as a private practitioner," and the LMHC and LAMFT scope is expressed "under an appropriate clinical supervisor." Nothing in 7.35.3 addresses a license of this kind. A supervised counselor could be certified as a practitioner and then work an administration session without the supervision their own board requires; no provision of the published rule reaches that supervision.

The question the supervised tiers leave open. If a supervised licensee were certified as a practitioner, would the clinical supervisor their own board requires also need a permit under this program? No document and no meeting record held in this repository asks it. The published rule's supervision language sits entirely inside the program: a facilitator works under the direct supervision of a practitioner at 7.35.3.13 (B), and the practicum, its supervisors, and the practitioner's 20 supervisory hours sit at 7.35.3.19. The supervision a supervised license carries from its own licensing board appears nowhere in the 19 pages. Until that question is answered, no route can be stated for these licenses, and their rows are the only rows in the second table that link no starting point on Routes to a permit.

One condition. A LADAC's scope is treatment and intervention services specific to alcohol and other drug use disorders, and it reaches diagnosis of chemical abuse and chemical dependency disorders only. Assessment, treatment and diagnosis of mental health disorders sits expressly outside it. Substance use disorder is a qualifying condition, so the LADAC route exists for those patients and not for the others. It is the only verdict in the tables that runs by condition rather than by license, and the same question recurs at 7.35.3.8 (B)(8)(a), which requires the certifying clinician to attest that "The applicant has a qualifying diagnosis" without asking whether that clinician's scope covers that diagnosis.

Who may issue a certification the rule asks for. The rule names an issuer only where it writes "New Mexico". A professional license must be a license "to practice in New Mexico", and the emergency medical technician route reads "Licensure as a New Mexico emergency medical technician". Every other credential it requires is named without an issuer: basic life support, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, automated external defibrillator, HIPAA certification, wilderness first aid, and wilderness first responder. Each of those is issued nationally or privately and none is issued by New Mexico. The words "national", "nationally", and "accredited" do not appear anywhere in the 19 pages of the rule, and no certifying body is named for any of them. New Mexico issuance is required where the rule writes it, and elsewhere the rule accepts a certification without saying who may grant it or what would make one acceptable. For a person whose credential is national rather than a state license, the consequence is this: a national board certification cannot satisfy 7.35.3.9 (D)(1) or (E)(1), and it does not have to, because the facilitator route at 7.35.3.9 (F) asks for no license at all.

A note on the certifying column. 7.35.3.9 (D)(2) requires a "NM controlled substance number" of every certifying clinician, and most behavioral health licenses do not prescribe. That requirement, rather than the scope test, holds the column at Partial across the behavioral health rows.

Sources: June 12 recommendation p. 1 for both scope tests; published rule 7.35.3.8 (B)(8)(a), p. 2 and 7.35.3.9 (D) and (E), p. 3. Need source: the scope language for every New Mexico license named on this page comes from NMSA 1978 Section 61-9A-5 for the counseling and therapy board and from 16.63.9.9, 16.63.10.9 and 16.63.11.9 NMAC for the social work board. Neither document is held in this repository and neither has been read directly, so no scope language on this page is quoted as verbatim and every row drawn from it carries a Need source mark. Reading those two sources, and citing each row to its own subsection, is open work.

Beyond the three permits

Every role the rule names, and how a person comes to hold it

The tables above cover the three certifications an individual applies for. The rule names or requires more roles than the three, and several of them are open to people with no health license at all. This is the full map, grouped by how a person comes to hold the role rather than by what they do.

Certified by the department, on application

Certifying clinician, practitioner, and facilitator, at 7.35.3.9, each valid two years. Healing center, at 7.35.3.11 (A), two years, on a 25-item application. Other approved location, at 7.35.3.11 (B), 90 days, applied for by a practitioner or facilitator, with no renewal path in the rule. Psilocybin educational program, at 7.35.3.12, two years. Of these, only the facilitator route requires no professional license of any kind.

Authorized to handle the medicine without being certified

Healing center owners and employees, at 7.35.3.14 (C), may purchase, possess, sell and administer psilocybin to patients. The rule sets no license requirement, no training requirement, and no education requirement for them. It conditions the authority on being "registered with the department" and on designation by the healing center. No such registration exists anywhere in 7.35.3 or in 7.35.2. The authority therefore cannot be exercised as written, because the registration it is conditioned on was never created, and it is the one route to administering psilocybin that carries no qualification requirement of any kind.

Qualified students, at 7.35.3.20 (H)(5), count toward group session staffing at one per two patients once "registered with a certified educational program" and having "completed at least 50 hours of their practicum." The department never registers, numbers, or verifies a student, so the threshold rests on a private program's records.

Required on site, credentialed by somebody other than the department

Where an outdoor session is 15 minutes or more from emergency medical services, 7.35.3.11 (A)(22)(d) requires "at least two individuals present who are not receiving treatment" holding wilderness first aid certification, wilderness first responder certification, or New Mexico emergency medical technician licensure. No health license, no department credential, and no departmental approval. The rule does not say whether the practitioner and facilitator already on site may be these two people, or whether they must be two more.

Engaged privately, with criteria the department never checks

Third-party evaluators, at 7.35.3.16, must number at least three, each with three or more years of professional experience, collectively covering psilocybin therapy practice, medical and research practice, and curriculum evaluation, with a graduate degree behind each domain. The department never approves, lists, or disciplines them. Instructors, at 7.35.3.12 (A)(14), are judged on "collective expertise" across the whole roster, so no individual instructor need hold any credential. Certified faculty, at 7.35.3.12 (A)(22), must number two by December 31, 2027 and may hold "practitioner or facilitator certificates", so two certified facilitators satisfy it and this is a teaching route reachable with no health license. Practicum supervisors are named once, at 7.35.3.19 (E), with no credential, no ratio, and no sign-off authority stated.

Present by the patient's consent: the fourth class

7.35.3.20 (D) sets out who may be in the room: "only patients, certified individuals, and students completing their practicums may be present during an administration session unless each patient gives prior written consent for the other individual(s) to be present." That final clause is the one route into the room open to a person holding no credential at all. It is uncapped, it requires no credential, and nothing is filed with the department.

Everyone below enters here, on the patient's written consent, and holds no permit, no scope, no training requirement, and no place in the staffing ratio at 7.35.3.20 (H)(5):

  • Support person. A family member, partner, friend, or chosen companion.
  • Space attendant. The term used at the July 16 End-of-Life Care committee for a person who stays with a patient across the whole arc of a session to provide continuity rather than to facilitate it, a hospice-trained volunteer being the example given. It appears nowhere in the rule.
  • End-of-life doula. Named in the June 12 recommendation and at the July 16 committee. Absent from the rule.
  • Chaplain, spiritual care provider, or religious leader. Named in the June 12 recommendation. Absent from the rule.
  • Interpreter. The rule's only language provision is a duty to translate a document, at 7.35.3.13 (D)(1). A patient who needs a person to interpret must obtain every other patient's written consent to bring one.
  • Caregiver or personal attendant, including someone providing mobility or disability support.
  • Traditional healer, curandera, or elder invited by the patient.

None of these words appears in the rule. The whole class exists as "the other individual(s)". Four consequences follow: in a group session every other patient must consent before one patient may bring anyone; the rule does not require the consent to be retained, dated, itemized, or revocable; there is no cap; and a person in this class has no standing to complain, because 7.35.3.24 limits complaints to "a qualified patient or certificant".

Two people in the room: the co-facilitation route

Nothing in the rule requires a person to hold the whole role alone, and the staffing provision assumes the opposite. 7.35.3.20 (H)(5) requires "a minimum of one practitioner and one facilitator for individual patient sessions", so every session already has two certified people in it. 7.35.3.13 (B) sets the relationship: a facilitator "is authorized to work alongside a practitioner during medical psilocybin services" and "works under the direct supervision of a practitioner".

This is the route for a person whose practice the rule does not name and whose credential is not a New Mexico license. A traditional healer, a chaplain, a peer supporter, or a death doula becomes a certified facilitator, which requires no license of any kind, and works alongside a practitioner who holds one. The pair satisfies the rule where the individual does not. What that person must complete is the facilitator training and the practicum at 7.35.3.9 (F) and 7.35.3.19, so the barrier is hours and placement rather than eligibility, and it is the same barrier every facilitator faces.

Two limits sit on it as written. 7.35.3.13 (B) confines a facilitator to "peer support to qualified patients, as well as logistical and administrative support", and adds that a facilitator "shall not perform any patient care outside this scope, unless another license held by the facilitator permits it", so a traditional practice carried into the room is bounded by a scope written for a support role. And the practicum must be completed inside an approved healing center or other approved location under 7.35.3.19 (D), which is the same rural and access bottleneck raised on July 17. The rule creates no way to recognize existing practice in place of those hours, which is the legacy pathway question below.

Named in the record, with no route in the rule

A legacy or traditional practitioner seeking to come into the regulated program from outside it. DezbaĆ” raised it at the July 17 committee meeting, and Larry Leeman and Chris Caldwell both supported a legacy pathway. The rule's only alternative route, at 7.35.3.10, requires a completed psilocybin educational program from another jurisdiction: one approved by a government, one developed in collaboration with higher education institutions or with government-approved psychedelic research studies, or one on the department's approved list. It offers nothing to a person whose training was not a program. New Mexico recognizes traditional practice in two other places and in neither of them through this rule.Need source A training permit holder, proposed by Dr. Anne Metz and declined by the department in favour of the qualified student at 7.35.3.20 (H)(5). A practicum site supervisor on an apprenticeship model, proposed by Dr. Anne Metz, with her own open question of who would vet them. A well participant, the non-patient a first practicum stage would work with. An end-of-life specialist or endorsement overlaying the three roles, from the July 16 committee. None of these is in the published text.

Sources: published rule 7.35.3.9, 7.35.3.11, 7.35.3.12, 7.35.3.14, 7.35.3.16, 7.35.3.19 and 7.35.3.20, August 25, 2026, cited by subsection above. Meeting positions: July 17 Training and Education Committee transcript, and the July 16 End-of-Life Care committee, of which no record is held in this repository. Need source: the claim that New Mexico recognizes traditional healing practice through the Unlicensed Health Care Practice Act and through a Medicaid pathway for tribally recognized healers is stated here as a finding and has not been read against those sources directly.

A credential no state issues

Chaplains, pastoral counselors, and spiritual care

This group is asked about often and sits outside the licensing system, which sets what the rule can and cannot say about it.

No state in the United States licenses, certifies, registers, or title-protects a chaplain. Chaplaincy runs on voluntary private certification, and hospitals rather than governments are what make it compulsory in practice. New Mexico is no exception and issues no chaplain credential of any kind. The national certifications are private: Board Certified Chaplain from the Board of Chaplaincy Certification Inc., which asks for a bachelor's degree plus 72 graduate semester hours of theological education, four units of clinical pastoral education, faith-group endorsement, and 2,000 hours of chaplaincy work; parallel certifications from the National Association of Catholic Chaplains and from Neshama: Association of Jewish Chaplains, each requiring its own ecclesiastical endorsement; the Spiritual Care Association's three tiers; and the ACPE Certified Educator credential for those who teach clinical pastoral education. Hospice and palliative chaplaincy has its own advanced layer on top of board certification.Need source

One certifying body credits non-academic training. The Board of Chaplaincy Certification allows an applicant trained in a non-academic tradition, naming Buddhist and Indigenous traditions specifically, to satisfy the education requirement by documenting up to 7,200 hours of mentored study in place of a graduate degree. That is a worked example of recognizing lineage-based training inside a credential, and it bears on the legacy pathway question below.Need source

Pastoral counselor is a licensed title in six states, and New Mexico is not one of them. Kentucky, Maine, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Tennessee, and reportedly Arkansas license it. Contemporary accounts state those laws were passed principally so that pastoral counselors could bill health insurance, which makes them a precedent about payment rather than about competence. In New Mexico the position is different in kind: pastoral counselors holding a graduate degree are exempted from the Professional Psychologist Act, which is permission to practice without a psychology license rather than a credential of their own.Need source

The certification a New Mexico statute once pointed at no longer exists. The American Association of Pastoral Counselors stopped certifying and then dissolved in March 2019, its members and assets moving to the Association for Clinical Pastoral Education by that June. No body inherited the credential. ACPE certifies educators and offers continuing education, not pastoral counselor certification. New Mexico appears to have carried a pastoral counselor exemption tied to that association's certification with a sunset of June 30, 1998, and to have removed the reference in 1999, leaving a degree-only exemption. Whether any New Mexico provision still names the association is unresolved here; a condition written against a defunct certifier cannot be met by anyone.Need source

Two New Mexico exemptions do the work instead, and neither is a route into this program. The Counseling and Therapy Practice Act exempts duly ordained, commissioned, or licensed ministers providing pastoral services on behalf of a church, and separately exempts practitioners of Native American healing arts. It also shelters an alternative, metaphysical, or holistic practitioner, but only for nonclinical activity, which is a limit for anyone whose practice touches diagnosis or treatment. The Professional Psychologist Act carries the longer list, covering ministers, lay pastoral-care assistants, Christian Science practitioners, science of mind practitioners serving a church without compensation, and pastoral counselors with graduate degrees. Alongside both sits the Unlicensed Health Care Practice Act, a disclosure regime rather than a credential, which names culturally traditional healing practices including those of a curandera, sobadora, partera, medica, and arbolaria, and healing traditions including plant medicines and foods, prayer, ceremony and song.Need source

What all of that means under this rule

Nothing in it qualifies a person, and nothing in it disqualifies one. A national board certification is not a "current professional license to practice in New Mexico", so it cannot satisfy 7.35.3.9 (D)(1) or (E)(1), and the certifying clinician and practitioner routes stay closed on that basis alone. An exemption from the Psychologist Act or the Counseling and Therapy Practice Act is permission to practice without a license, not a license, so it does not open those routes either.

The facilitator route is open, and it is open on the same terms as for anyone else. 7.35.3.9 (F) asks for no license, so a board certified chaplain, a pastoral counselor, a spiritual director, an interfaith minister, and a person with no credential at all stand in the same position: complete the training and the practicum. A chaplain's 72 graduate hours and four units of clinical pastoral education are not credited under the rule, and their absence is not counted against an applicant.

The two open questions this raises for the committee. Whether a rule that recognizes no spiritual care credential should recognize one, given that end-of-life care is a qualifying condition and spiritual, existential, religious and theological content is already a required part of the New Mexico module. And whether the rule should credit rigorous non-academic training at all, given that a national chaplaincy board already does so by hours of mentored study.

Need source, and this whole section is marked so. Every statement above about New Mexico statutes, about the six pastoral counselor states, and about the private certifying bodies is a finding assembled from research this repository cannot yet verify against a primary document, because those documents are not held here and could not be read directly. The New Mexico provisions concerned are the exemptions sections of the Counseling and Therapy Practice Act and the Professional Psychologist Act, and the Unlicensed Health Care Practice Act at NMSA 1978 Sections 61-35-1 through 61-35-8. Nothing in this section is quoted as verbatim statutory text. The claims about the psilocybin rule itself, in the box above, are drawn from 7.35.3.9 (D), (E) and (F), p. 3 and are checkable.

Two limits on the table above

The rows are starting points, not the set of New Mexico licenses. No document in the chain lists licenses. The Medical Psilocybin Act, Section 3, defines one provider role, "an approved health care provider licensed in New Mexico". 7.35.2 NMAC defines a practitioner as "an individual who is a licensed healthcare professional". The published rule asks for "current professional license to practice in New Mexico" and gives examples in parentheses, and the only scope-of-practice test anywhere in the chain is in the June 12 recommendation, which the published rule does not restate. A license absent from this table is therefore unanswered rather than excluded, and licenses the table does not yet name, including the professional art therapist and the several counseling and social work levels, are being mapped.

The certifying clinician column is one verdict where the rule needs four. 7.35.3.8 (B)(8)(a) requires the certifying clinician to attest that "The applicant has a qualifying diagnosis", and the qualifying conditions are not one kind of thing: major treatment-resistant depression, post-traumatic stress disorder, and substance use disorders are behavioral health diagnoses, while end-of-life care is a prognosis rather than a diagnosis, and the department may approve others. Whether a given license may certify therefore depends on which condition, not on the license alone. The clearest consequence is that no behavioral health license establishes end-of-life care, so that pathway is gated by a medical prognosis at its first step.

Sources: Medical Psilocybin Act Section 3, Subsections B and I; 7.35.2 NMAC definitions as amended August 25, 2026; published rule 7.35.3.8 (B)(8)(a), p. 2 and 7.35.3.9 (D) and (E), p. 3; June 12 recommendation p. 1 for the two scope tests. The published rule uses the phrase "scope of practice" once, at 7.35.3.19 (F), about practicum supervisors and students, and nowhere about a certifying clinician or a practitioner; the license statements at 7.35.3.9 (D) and (E) name the practice a license must allow without using the phrase.

Two routes read in full

The end-of-life doula and the palliative care specialist

Both are asked about often, and the rule answers them in different ways. The rule grades a person by the license they hold, not by the work they do, so a specialty and a certification travel differently through it.

The end-of-life doula has one route, and it is the facilitator route. The two licensed roles are closed to a doula as such. A certifying clinician must submit "Documentation of current professional license to practice in New Mexico (e.g. MD, NP)" at 7.35.3.9 (D), and a practitioner must submit "Documentation of current professional license to practice in New Mexico (e.g. PSY, LSW, LCSW)" at 7.35.3.9 (E). New Mexico credentials doulas, but only birth doulas: the Doula Credentialing and Access Act, effective July 1, 2025, created a voluntary state certification with a public registry and a Medicaid payment pathway, and scoped it by its own definition to the pre-conception period, pregnancy, childbirth and the postpartum period. End-of-life doulas fall outside it, and no other New Mexico credential reaches them, so the certification an end-of-life doula holds comes from a private training body and is not a New Mexico professional license.Need source The facilitator route asks for no license at all: 7.35.3.9 (F) requires the practicum, current BLS or both CPR and AED or New Mexico emergency medical technician licensure, HIPAA certification completed within the preceding two years, and a W-9. A doula who completes the facilitator training and practicum is eligible on the same terms as any other applicant, and the same is true of a chaplain and of a hospice volunteer.

The palliative care specialist is graded by the license underneath the specialty. Palliative care is a field of practice, not a New Mexico license, and the rule never names a specialty. A hospice and palliative medicine physician is read on the Physician row, a palliative care nurse practitioner on the Nurse Practitioner row, a palliative care social worker on the LCSW row, a palliative care nurse on the Registered Nurse row, and a palliative care chaplain on the Chaplain row. Those rows do not agree with one another, which is the point: the same palliative care team can hold three different sets of routes. The facilitator column is the one they share, because it turns on no license.

Both readings are walked step by step on Routes to a permit. The palliative care specialist is a starting point of its own there, a specialty rather than a license, with the certifying clinician and practitioner verdicts set by the license held. The end-of-life doula's one route opens from the no-health-license start, on the facilitator pathway.

Neither role exists in the rule as itself. A doula may be in the room, in the fourth class set out under every role: 7.35.3.20 (D) admits "the other individual(s)" on each patient's prior written consent. What the rule does not do is give that person a permit, a scope, a training standard, or a place in the staffing ratio at 7.35.3.20 (H)(5), which counts only practitioners, facilitators, and qualified students. Larry Leeman named this at the July 16 End-of-Life Care committee meeting as the gap that a chaplain or end-of-life doula has no post-training slot in the three-role structure. Nothing in the rule published on July 23 creates one. The template exists in New Mexico law: the state built a doula certification with a registry and a payment pathway and pointed it at birth.

Entry credentials: 7.35.3.9 (D), (E) and (F), revised proposed rule p.3. Presence at an administration session: 7.35.3.20 (D), p.14. Staffing ratio and the qualified student: 7.35.3.20 (H)(5), p.15. The absence of a New Mexico license for end-of-life doulas is stated here as the reason the two licensed columns are closed; the rule itself names no such license and no such role. The post-training slot gap: End-of-Life Care committee meeting, July 16, 2026, attributed to Larry Leeman; no record of that meeting is held in this repository. The layer these two roles would carry, if the committee adopts one, is below the line that follows.

◆ Options raised · July 16, 2026

Below this line the register changes. These are possibilities discussed at the July 16 End-of-Life Care committee meeting, offered for consideration. They are not in the published rule, not settled requirements, and not this site's recommendation. The two tables above are unchanged.

Specialization as an added layer, not a separate license

Members discussed treating competence in a specific qualifying condition as a layer added on top of core eligibility, sitting on the existing three roles as an endorsement. It would not add a fourth license or a new row to the tables above. End-of-life care is the domain furthest along; PTSD, substance use disorders, and treatment-resistant depression were treated as the same shape.

Baseline, for every facilitator

Proposed as the psychospiritual core

  • Spiritual assessment and meaning-making
  • Grief, loss, and bereavement
  • Family and relational systems
  • Ethics, culture, equity, and informed consent

End-of-life specialization Overlay

Added on top of the baseline

  • Client mindset in serious illness and end-of-life
  • Medical complexity and safety
  • Adapting facilitation for end-of-life care
  • Interdisciplinary collaboration and sustainable practice

First-pass domain tagging presented by Jenn at the End-of-Life Care committee meeting, July 16, 2026. Rule of thumb offered in the discussion: psychospiritual content is baseline for everyone; medical-complexity and prognosis-aware content is the specialization layer.

The same competency, carried by different roles Discussed July 16

Because the layer is an endorsement rather than a license, the same end-of-life competency can land in a clinical, a behavioral-health, or a community context, depending on which of the three roles carries it.

Larry Leeman: described continuity-of-care models where a death doula stays with a client through the journey and a Space Attendant, such as a hospice-trained volunteer, provides continuity. He raised the gap that a chaplain or end-of-life doula has no post-training slot in the current three-role structure.

Jamie: existential and spiritual themes appear across all psilocybin work, not only end-of-life, so a baseline competency in those areas fits every facilitator regardless of specialization.

Source: End-of-Life Care committee meeting, July 16, 2026; positions attributed to the members who stated them.

Open questions on the added layer Discussed July 16

Test out or credential out. For practitioners already specialized in palliative care, members raised whether existing expertise could satisfy the requirement without repeating training. Left open, and flagged for the training committee.

Endorsement or licensure. Dominic Zurlo, director of the Department of Health Center for Medical Cannabis and Psilocybin, recorded in the July 16 notes as Dom, said diagnosis-specific licensure is logistically difficult and that the department prefers endorsements and best-practice recommendations. Larry Leeman suggested a professional organization for New Mexico end-of-life psychedelic practice as a possible long-term home for the standard.

Source: End-of-Life Care committee meeting, July 16, 2026. The optional route these questions attach to, and the hours proposed for it, are on Specialized domains.

If the committee recommendation is adopted

  • Facilitator and practitioner classroom hours stay at 80 in total, which the August 25 text now also sets, but gain minimum hours in nine content areas running from 22 in core psychotherapy skills and ethics down to 2 in role playing and simulated patient work; the published text lists topics with no per-area hours and requires 10 simulated patient hours against the recommendation's 2. The New Mexico module stays required of every role either way. "Practitioner" becomes "Licensed Provider," a rename the August 25 text declines.
  • Facilitator practicum becomes 102 hours in place of 100, staged: 24 with well participants, 24 co-facilitating, 12 of group work, and 42 of supervised practice on two cases, with an 18-hour case presentation and consultation group inside the total.
  • Practitioner practicum becomes 114 hours in place of 120, and the 20 supervisory hours become 12, a stage of the staged practicum.
  • Mentoring is removed as a separate requirement: the practicum closes with the 18-hour case presentation and consultation group inside its total, with sign-off requiring two personally provided cases. The published text keeps the mentoring and requires its own two-case evaluation by the practicum supervisor.
  • The certifying clinician does not change. The recommendation addresses facilitators and practitioners only. The 8-hour module and the absence of a practicum stand either way.

Source: the committee recommendation at its August 21 position, stated in full beside the published text on the recommendation page. Not in the published rule.